ZDDP oil additive

Guest tim hayes

You can search for ZDDP or oil and read several discussions on this site.

I am not an expert, but in 1928 and in 1932, they did not have ZDDP in the oil. My best understanding is that this is more of a concern for those who have later cars than you and I have.

My Pontiac has 490,000 miles on it. Of these 320,000 were after an engine overhaul. The vehicle has been used daily since 1959. I use single weight oil (20 wt now)and change the oil every three thousand miles (3 months). Since the overhaul I have never had to add oil between changes and I have never used an additive of any kind. The car came with a partial flow oil filter but because they are very expensive and very scarce I have not installed one since I overhauled the engine. One third of my mileage is in town and the rest is at highway speeds 50-60 mph with short bursts to 65. I believe if you use good high detergent oil and change it regualarly you do not need any additives.

Some of the later information that I have heard on the subject concerning this additive is that it is needed primarily in high-performance applications with flat tappet, high lift camshafts and heavy valve spring pressures. There seems to be some logic to this claim, if that would mean anything.

Guest Bluesky636

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MCHinson</div><div class="ubbcode-body">You can search for ZDDP or oil and read several discussions on this site.

I am not an expert, but in 1928 and in 1932, they did not have ZDDP in the oil. My best understanding is that this is more of a concern for those who have later cars than you and I have. </div></div>

You are correct.

Guest Bluesky636