Driver Education-Self Taught!

R W Burgess

What upsets me about these stories is why the boy was going to school for "breakfast". His lazy good for nothing mother should have been up and had his breakfast ready and had him outside when the bus came. It's unbelievable that the taxpayer should have to feed the students as well as educate them while the parents (if that is the right term) (perhaps they should be called sperm donor and breeder) sit at home and do nothing but smoke and/or drink. Not enough money to provide meals for the children but most of them have liquor in the cupboard and cigarettes. Proper supervision costs nothing but the will to do it. The problem is that many people think the State/Province owes them. HAH, the State/Province (government) has nothing, it is us the taxpayer that pays for it all, and we the silent majority let them do it.

Wayne,

While it may have happened in your part of the country, it is probably all too common many places. Why get out of bed in the morning when the kid can get dressed himself and get to school for breakfast, and the government will do it for you. Oh maybe they should send someone to the house to make sure he is out on time.

I am afraid "we" have destroyed the initiative for many people.

Is it too late to corect this situation.

John

It starts at home, John. As our age group sees some of the irresponsibilities of our grandchildren, it's really hard not to say something to our adult kids, the parents, about it. Lots of hard feelings involved.

As a farmboy example, my middle daughter is with us from the college break. Well, she's spoiling my barn yard cat to death. Another week and he'll forget what his purpose in life was around our neighborhood....to rid the area of rodents and English Sparrows! confused.gif No disrespect intended for our British friends, the human ones, anyway. grin.gif