The Japaneese

lrlforfun

OK Buick People; You heard it from Mitch. Just my theory now..........GM eventually will be taken over by the Japanese. If GM had what it took they would still be in trouble but not on the verge of going under.

The Japanese are the only people capable of turning GM around and making it profitable again. Our country will reap tremendous long term benefits from this.

Maybe I can start buying new GM cars with the same confidence as I have with my Accord. I would buy everything American made if the products were good.

Mitch

Mitch,

I normally keep the hair on the back of my neck rather calm, but I take GREAT exception to your statement about "buy everything American if the products were good".

My daily driver is a Flint-made 1997 Buick LeSabre with over 265,000 miles! Many of those miles were racked up while towing a 5'X 8' utility trailer loaded with sound equipment, since I'm a professional disc jockey by trade.

This AMERICAN MADE vehicle has not been particularly pampered. Just routine maintenance and parts replacement as required due to high mileage. It stays outside during Michigan winters which, I might add, are just a tad rougher than those experienced in Hayward, CA. It has NEVER failed to start, even at 10 below zero!

The sound equipment is also 95% AMERICAN MADE. The only time I purchase otherwise is because it's simply not available. When performing a gig in front of several thousand people, nothing but the most dependable equipment is acceptable. Some of my AMERICAN MADE microphones are over 20 years old, have been used at hundreds of performances, and have NEVER failed! Same with the amps and speakers.

Mitch, I certainly hope you continue to enjoy your Accord.

Nothing personal, but if you should ever visit my home please do me a favor and DO NOT park it in my driveway!