Sign in to follow this  
ncgirl05

'41 120 with a divider?

There's a '41 120 sedan for sale on eBay that has a divider window. Was this done often? I don't think I've ever seen one. Not that I'm an expert by any stretch....

Link to Vehicle

I looked at that closely a few days ago. Without some form of documentation I'd conclude it's a home-built divider or at the least, not factory issue.

The sliding divider window looks like a commercially available truck or boat window. Doesn't look at all original to me. I'd bet money on it not being original.

Based on the red pedal, it also has an electromatic clutch.

I can't add any wisdom on the divider. It's certainly not any type that Packard offered on the larger series. It does have sort of a taxi look to it, but if the paint is original, it's not a taxi paint job.

Taking another look at the divider, it does appear to have been done when the car was either new or fairly new. Derham did a lot of simple customs like this, so that would be my guess. However, even if you could proof that it was Derham that did the job, I wouldn't get too excited about it. It would add a little value, but not a whole lot.

The division window cars and taxis typically had a leather front seat did they not? The division window certainly looks like it was made with the same material as the seats. Interesting car.

I was thinking the same thing, Dave. But you probably had a choice. I know that the formal sedans could have been ordered either way, but most had cloth front seats.

The division is good to prevent your dog from constantly licking you on the back of the neck. grin.gif

I agree. Neat car.