1963 Instrument Panel Light Question

Guest DLT

Hi Dalton here,

I've owned a 1963 Riviera for about 2 months now. Lots of work to date and beginning to make some progress with maintance and repair items. I do have a manual and have studied it extensively BUT I'm not a skilled mechanic.That said, I am trying to do all the work myself.

I've observed a few odd things with the instrument panel lights and hoped someone might have a clue or two about possible solutions.

When the headlights are on there are no insturment lights unless I turn the reostat all the way up. When the lights are on, the "red" bright indicator is dimly illuminated. As background, the previous owner (a ROA member) mentioned that he did not like the Guide-o-Matic so he by-passed it and ran a different headlight bright switch as well. Brights do seem to work alright most of the time but sometimes the dimmer floor switch has no effect - I'm assuming it's dirty and not making contact.

When the reostat is all the way up, then the following is observed: Some of the dash and instrument lights come on, i.e. shifter, light over the AC/Heat controls and at least two of the insturment panel lights (speedo and clock but the clock has no power at this time on that circuit - I assume the other bulbs are burned out). BUT both blinker indicators turn green and the gas gauge moves to E immediately. If I remember the manual correctly, it seems the gas gauge has lost it's ground as I believe that F is full ground (but perhaps I have it backwards). If I turn the reostat off full, then the lights go off and gas gauge returns to previous position.

The other odd thing. When the headlights are off but a turn signal blinker is on, the gas gauge drops about a 1/4 tank and bounces as the blinker cycles.

Another piece of data. The previous owner had a nice collection of spare parts he gave me with the car. One of those parts was a spare circuit board for the panel lights. Maybe I should ask him about that as well???