Needs a little work ...

KGround

I've always wanted one of those old 'gangster cars' with the hump on the back, so I recently got this '36 olds. I'm totally new to old car restoration, and right at present I'm trying to see what's available by way of parts so I can decide whether to try to put this car back toward original or go forward with my original plan and make a custom out of it. As you can see, a lot of pieces are missing, but the metal and wood are basically sound, with no big dents, rust holes or rot. I have found sources for glass, headlight cans (costly), and maybe a grille, but I still have a lot of questions.

Any comments would be appreciated...

1: The numbers Style 36-3819, body 29314.

One internet reference says this calls out an 8 cylinder 5 passenger touring sedan, but mine has a 6 cylinder engine which looks pretty original. Anybody know whether the reference is correct or maybe this is an error ?

2: This car will be a daily driver. Anyone like to comment on whether it would be expected to keep up with traffic with present running gear or whether swapping out the driveline for something more modern might be in order. I will drive on the interstate occasionally, and perhaps take some long trips.

3: How about brakes ? If working properly will the present brakes be ok or is this thing going to scare me every time I? try to stop ? I see that there are conversion kits available from a few sources ...

4: I have been told that it is fairly easy to remove this body and drop it on to a later model frame to get modern running gear, suspension, and brakes all in one step. Any comments about that, or suggestions about what donor vehicle would be good to use ?

Hope I haven't offended the purists out there with talk of not keeping this original -- as I say, I am still in the decision phase, so give me your comments either way, please...

falconlabs.com\rtside.jpg

falconlabs.com\front.jpg

falconlabs.com\interior.jpg