1985 riviera convertible

ken_westhaver

Hi, Newbie here, in more ways than one. I jumped into a 1985 convertible last week feet first. Long story short I am on a big learning curve and now have some questions. 1.) OIl/ choke light comes on after warm up and low rpm (didn't happen when I was test driving the car) Checked oil pressure at idle somewhat warm = 25#, replaced switch- same condition. No engine noise. 2.) although everything looks new the ass is sagging. Put air in shocks, next day ass is down again. 3.) passenger side quarter window. does go up and down, but seems like it is not actually attached to anything. Does that make sense? Anyway, those are the big three, the top of the rear glass has seperated from the vinyl, but I assume that has to be remedied by the top guy. Thanks for any help and for putting up with the questions (more to come I am sure). Ken

Ken, I'd have to check my service manual but the oil/choke light on the 84/85 Riv's was actually only for the oil and had nothing to do with the choke. Mine got where it wouldn't come on at all, changed the sending unit and it went back to working. I have had the engine almost die and the light would come on momentarily then go off. Sounds like your car is idling too low. If your oil pressure's good that's about all that could be making it do that unless the light is getting grounded somewhere...

On #2 you have an air leak somewhere in your ELC system. Easy to fix and you'll want to fix it so you don't drag bottom. One other possibility your height sensor might need to be adjusted. Do you have a service manual yet?

Don't know anything about the convertibles...

Ken,

To add to what Jayson said, the ELC system will drain your battery if there's a leak in it. It runs off a BAT wire (hot all the time) and if your shocks lose air during the night, the ELC will turn on and pump it up again. If this continues to cycle, it will eventually run your battery down.