Sign in to follow this  
jgorel70m

MCPHERSON COLLEGE SURVEY

I am currently a student of the automotive restoration department at McPherson college and I was curious what the outside worlds opinion was of the program? I was hoping either some members could message me or post what they think of the program.

Thanks in advance!!

As a graduate of MC in 1962 (back in the pleistocene) I was very interested in the fact that the college had such a program. And since I recently purchased a 1948 Lincoln Continental coupe for restoration it all the more interesting. The program is very well known--since I have had my car I have had the opportunity to speak to people from coast to coast and they are familiar with this unusual

educational field of study. It is so important. I have a friend here who has been in the field for 35+ years. He is no spring chicken any more and when he quits or passes on his art will be lost. He has had cars featured in Hot Rod, and other publications. He is truly an artist in automotive creation. His name is Dick Easterood, I have tried to talk him into taking on a serious understudy but I don't think it will happen.

To answer your query, yes,it is well known and has a great reputation to my knowledge. Glenn Lorei

I believe it was Jay Leno that pushed this particular college program on his show a while back. I have heard of the college and have heard nothing but praise about it.

I went to a Studebaker International meet in Omaha two years ago and had the opportunity to talk to the engineer who worked under Raymond Lowey in creating the 53 Lowey Coupe. After Studebaker he joined up with GM and work on Buicks. Adventually he created the Olds Tornodo. He had a ton of stories and one was on the talent coming out of McPherson. He stated that with each of the individual's work that he had seen it was at least three steps ahead of everyone else. He rated the school as top notch. Best of luck.