Replacing the Rear Main Seal in my '49

49 Packard

With the prospect of the weather starting to warm I'm getting excited about getting to the rear main seal on my 288. I was losing about a quart of oil in sixty miles of driving when I put the car away for winter.

<span style="font-weight: bold">Question #1</span> - is there a better seal available than the original wick seal? If not, I'll just do that. I've never done anything like this before and it ought to be quite an adventure.

I welcome any advice from any that have done this!

It has been recommended to me that I take the opportunity to plasti-gauge my rod bearings while I have the pan off. I've read enough to understand how plasti-gauge works, but am not quite sure to do with the results...

<span style="font-weight: bold">Question #2</span> - Based on what the plasti-gauge reveals, what do I do? I see that rod bearings are available in 001, 002, 010 and greater sizes from Kanter.

<span style="font-weight: bold">Question #3</span> - Do I need to plasti-gauge each rod bearing, or just one?

I think that's enough questions! I welcome advice from this group, knowing that some of you have done this kind of work many times. This will be my first time and I don't want to get it wrong.

Thanks so much,

While I wouldn't call replacing the wick seal a fun job, properly done it's a very effective seal and would no doubt last for the better part of 100,000 miles w/o problems. I'm not aware of any replacement type but that doesn't mean there isn't one.

Plastigaging one rod will show you the oil clearance on that rod; to be completely informed about the rod bearing conditions you should examine and plastigage each. There is always the possibility of prior engine service which turned one or more rod undersize, or of some other malady with one bearing and not the others.