V12 Crankshaft Damper Replacer

Guest Roughrider

Guest Roughrider

Hello all,

I'm new to the LZOC but in love with my "new" 42 Lincoln Continental Coupe that I have affectionately named "Eleanor" (A tribute to the first lady of that era and Edsel Ford's wife.)

Recently my crankshaft pulley split while driving and I now have a replacement crankshaft damper assembly with the pulley attached. I've collected great information from the forum on removing the radiator and I have the OCee Ritch Continental book. My question is do you need the vibration damper remover-6360-A and the crankshaft damper replacer 6360-B tools to replace the crankshaft pulley?

Any lessons learned or insight on this subject is greatly appreciated.

Retired Navy - Call sign Roughrider.

post-54749-143137967019_thumb.jpg

Guest imported_V12Bill

From the information that you send, it sounds as though you wish to replace just the pulley and use the dampner again. This is possible if you can find a pulley. I once had the misfortune to break a pulley and had to replace the entire dampner assembly. It is held in place by a bolt and large washer in the center of the crakshaft. Any puller that will bolt to the end of the dampner in the holes that the fan bolts to will remove the dampner. Remove the ceneter bolt and washer and pull off the dampner.

Beautiful '42 Rough, in it's day, there was a "Red Ryder" on the radio, but if I had your car, it would be called "Maroon Ryder". The glare in the picture makes it look like your front left hubcap is plain, without the unique '42 plaque, is that true?? And I think the '42 Zephyrs had a different hood side trim, did that hold true for the '42 Connie?-

Considering what's involved with replacing the damper/ pulley you might consider having the pulley on the replacement tack welded in a couple of places before you install it. It's the front half of the pulley that separates from the hub. I've fixed a couple this way.