Edmunds intake

looz nutz

Not to fear....they are out there - I saw 2 at Hershey this year, but what you really want to hear is that casting company in El Paso is advertising they make them. I have NO personal experience with this company, so you should consider checking with others with personal experience if the manifold is not in stock. There is a lot of hearsay out there regarding this company.

Didn't we just have a thread on this? Some guy had one and wasn't sure what it fit? A search thru the old posts might turn it up, I think it was last summer.

Be prepared to pay thru the nose. The last Edmunds manifold I saw for an inline flathead was for a Chrysler six, it went on Ebay for almost $400 bucks. I shudder to think what one for a Packard would be worth.

There are alternatives. Such as using a single 4 barrel manifold off a slightly newer Packard.

Or you could weld up your stock manifold and make it a 2 carb or 3 carb.

From the standpoint of performance and practicality the single 4 barrel would be best, but multi carbs look cooler.

I know for performance and practicallity the four barrel would work the best, but when you open the hood and see a shining intake manifold with two carbs and an aluminum head you just can't stop saying WOWOWOWOOWOW!. I will keep hunting. I got a hold of a four barrel manifold here from Ak. I will see wich route to take. I have a VS57 that I will try and install as well. That is the reason why I'm thinking of going four barrell. Well thanks to all who responded.

If you use a VS57 you don't need a 4 barrel. The blower makes the 2 barrel act like a 4 barrel.

In 1957 Studebaker had 3 289 V8s, 225HP 2 barrel carb, 250HP 4 barrel carb and 275HP with a VS57 McCulloch supercharger. The 275 HP model was the 225HP 2 barrel plus a blower, believe it or not.

The one advantage to using a 4 barrel is you can tune the front 2 barrels to work with no boost then richen up just the back barrels for when you kick the blower in.