1973 Buick LeSabre

IvanOgburn

I am starting to look at a 1973 Buick LeSabre with a 350 engine.

I am new to Buicks and LeSabres and would really appreciate any tips the informed public could offer in the way of special "Buick" or "LeSabre" issues/things to look for.

I have always admired Buicks and was hoping that this near mint condition baby (33K miles) would be my entry - the owner is asking $2500, which seems reasonable for it being in such good shape and low miles.

Any thoughts??

You can hardly go wrong with one of those cars. Engines and transmissions are nearly bulletproof in 1973, just be prepared for lousy gas mileage. If it is a 4-door sedan, look for worn weatherstripping around the driver's door, where the driver grabs the edge of the door, especially when the window is down. Also, the driver's door latch can be a little loose as the neoprene wears down on the door jamb peg, but with 33,000 miles, that is probably not a problem.

The plastic interior door panels can deteriorate if they have been well baked by the sun.

Pete Phillips

BCA #7338

Guest sintid58

$2500 for a car to get started if it is in good condition is very reasonable. Is it a 4 door or 2 door. If you could post a couple pictures of it that would be great. A car like that would be a lot of fun to take to poker runs, cruise nights and shows.

Could be wrong here but in 73 they had some rust issues on the body, good news is it will be real obvious. Other than that the engine and trans will run forever and the front end is built like a tank. Excellent entry car!! Comfy driver.

Guest Dans 77 Limited