Wire wheel identification

Guest rlbleeker

Guest rlbleeker

This is one of the wheels that came with my '16 speedster project. It measures 20" x 3.5" (rim width; overall width is 4.5") and has 72 spokes. Is this a Houk wheel? Was it a Buick accessory? Aftermarket? Approximate production date? I am in need of one left side "nut" and three lock rings (for the nut, not the rim) for these.

post-31393-143137944145_thumb.jpg

Guest imported_Thriller

I'm no expert, but being as it is from Buffalo, NY, is this what is referred to as a Buffalo wheel?

Yes, they are Buffalo Wheels. I believe they were an option on many cars, and probably came with your car if it is an original speedster. You most likely have to make the parts you need to mount them as these are relatively hard to find and expensive today.

Guest rlbleeker

I have 5 wheels and the hubs for mounting on the car (even the spare.) There is a metal ring with square holes that fits inside the wheel, a tab on the "nut" engages with the ring to keep it from backing off. Those are not visible and fairly easily fabricated. I have 4 "nuts" as shown, and one similar in very poor condition that I would like to replace with a matching item. Do you think these are 1916 vintage? I'm looking for clues as to whether the car is an original speedster or a later creation. It's a righthand drive car that spent at least part of it's life in Chile. I believe it was bodied in South America as the wood appears to be mahogany.

Guest rlbleeker

The BCA judging manual show 20" wires for 1929 only. I've looked at a bunch of pictures of '29s and they are not the same wheels.