Late 1929 Pontiac Restoration Help

Guest jumbodog

Guest jumbodog

I am restoring a well preserved original late 1929 Pontiac 4dr sedan (titled as '29, but similar to '30).Garaged all its life, last on road in 1955 when fuel pump went bad. No rust, turns over,everything is there and in place. My problem is, the previous owner tried to replace alot of critical wood that was dryrotted and was a lousy carpenter at best.I have purchased a nice pair of replacement front hinge pillars and a pair of side roof rails. I am an accomplished woodworker and car restorer, but never the two together. I plan to make new center posts. I have a Fisher Body Service Manual as a guide, but am missing alot of info. Can anyone offer guidance for the easiest removal of the homemade pillar posts and top rails and replacing them with the new in a way that I don't fumble thru it 6 times? Any suggestions for where to find dimensions, or patterns, or further info to help me reconstruct all of the missing top wood framework (crown roof rails, roof bows, strainers, etc)? Any and all help appreciated, I am anxious to save this '29 beauty. Thanks, Steve

• 3 years later...
Guest kmankmc

you can contact the pontiac oakland club international or poci and they can refer you to the right person who can give you all the info you need

Guest kmankmc

you can also obtain a fischer closed body manual that shows exacly what the wood pieces look like but no dimensions i had the same problem when i restored my 29 coupe trial and error until it fits perfect and a lot of scrap pieces left over but what i tried that really works is a computer and drafting software and taking a lot of dimensions and drawing them in the computer then printing full scale drawings on a plot printer so i have a templete to go by

Guest kmankmc