Tri-Shield Centers?

toomuchvinyl

Hi All! I'm new to Riviera ownership having purchased my '64 in October. It's a very nice and very original car with just 73,000 miles on it. My question (probably only the first of many to come) is in regard to the wire wheel covers on my car. I cannot claim that they are original to the vehicle since I have no way of knowing but mine have Tri-Shield centers in the spinners instead of Riviera logo's. I think I'd like to continue with these as it is how the car came to me. They are all faded so I would like to replace them. Does anyone know what applications these were used on or where I might find replacements?

Thanks!

Nice looker you've got there judging by the mini picture (interesting internet name, by the way).

Your wire wheels are a from a 63, the difference being the trishield emblem. The 64 got the "R" script. I do believe the 64 emblems are reproduced. Quite sure the 63's are not. If yours are merely faded they can be hand polished with auto body compound and polish. If they clean up with no cracks/defects you are in luck.They often have tracing cracks (almost like automatic ice maker ice)or more apparant, heavier cracks. With a dremel tool from behind the spinner (they're both glued and clamped in place with diecast tabs) and a little imagination they can be made quite presentable.

Have fun, Steve

Thanks for the info Steve. I am feeling more certain that the wheel covers are original to the car. Even though the car is a '64 there is at least one other anomaly that seems to indicate it's an early production car. I've seen information that says leather upholstry was not offered in '64 but this car has Saddle colored leather interior. Oh, and the name refers to my other hobby which is vintage stereo. My wife walks past my record rack shaking her head and muttering "Too much vinyl".