Exhaust smoke and oil consumption

Fleetwood Meadow

So now that the weather is getting cooler I think it’s time to fix the smoking issue my ‘51 Meadowbrook has. Has 48k miles. I got it 4 years ago with 43k on it. It hadn’t been on the road since 1973. It uses about a quart every 100-150 miles, depending upon if I go about 40mph. I can use a quart if I go 55-65 for about 15 minutes. At those speeds I get a faint smoke out of the tail pipe. During deceleration I get it too. I was going to replace the seals but i can’t find any and don’t see them in the book. Does this engine not have seals? I have been told it’s the oil ring on the pistons. I have been told it’s the valve guides. Is there a way to definitively know prior to taking off the head? My dry compression test was around 95 across the board. I didn’t do a wet compression test, mainly because I’m new to a lot of this and didn’t know I was supposed to do it. 

Edited by Fleet Meadow (see edit history)

Are you sure you are not leaking any oil, with that kind of consumption you should be seeing a real fog behind your car.  I would suspect that your oil rings aren't doing their job and therefore the compression rings are overloaded which would account for your good compression.

Another possibility would be worn valve guides.  A vacuum test would confirm this.

You really need a wet and dry compression test, preferably a leak down test.  Having a vacuum gauge hooked up when the engine is running would give you a lot of information,

What does your coolant  and what does the oil in the engine look like.  What weight of oil are you consuming,