Spare Tire Cover - precise Year & Model

drwatson

It should'nt be this hard for me to figure exact year & model Chev, but the pictured cover was returned to me by a buyer because "it did not fit" his 17" wheel. 

The covers inside diameter is 28-1/2". A 17" wheel is just barely too large at a 29" diam. Most mid 30's Chev passenger cars used 17" wheels up to 1936 . After reviewing Chev parts books online I see 1936 Chevs with knee action had 17" wheels while non-knee actions had 15" wheels. So perhaps my cover is for a 1936 Chevrolet Master DeLuxe coupe or cabriolet without knee-action? I'm looking for confirmation..Thank you.  Hub cap opening is precisely 7".

chev1.JPG

chev1a.JPG

chev2.JPG

chev2a.JPG

• Like 1

I have a 1933 Master and am not familiar with the exact info on the later covers, but your cover may have been correct for the guy you sold it to.  

Some of the new tires are larger then older tires marked the same size.  This tire cover vs tire issue has been discussed in the 1933 - 36 Chevrolet section of the VCCA forum.  

Comparing the 525/550-18 tire made in the 1970s for my 1933, most of the tires marked as the same size made today are significant difference in the tire cross section.  When I replace my tires I went with a Lucas Olympic black wall since the data showed they were slightly smaller in both outer diameter and cross section and the spare fit under my tire cover.

Edited by Vila (see edit history)

• 6 months later...

for a 1936  Standard ...  I have parts of three different spare tire covers i have collected over the past ten years in pursuit of the suitcase latches and good chrome and SS rings..  I do not plan to keep all these spare parts. I would like to sell them to someone who needs them for a project. I doubt these are all or any of them are for a 36; but close. I live near Sacramento so shipping might be expensive . Any interest ?  Herb    510 928 1810 

IMG_3905.JPG

IMG_3907.JPG

Car Collection _017.jpg

• 4 months later...