Zephyr lubricants

40Clubcoupe

Hello, I am new to the world of Lincoln Zephyrs. In quickly perusing the forum, it appears the subject of oils and lubricants has not been discussed for quite a while. It is probably old hat for most here but a subject I would certainly like to hear about.

What grade of oil do most owners like to run in their V12s ?   With or without zinc ?   I know brand preference is somewhat subjective, but have any brands given standout performance in your V12 ?

SAE 160 is called for in the transmissions.  Are most owners running 85W/140  ?

Thanks so much for any input,

A 38 Zephyr in Virginia

• Like 1

Any good brand of oil that meets current API standards will protect your engine, if changed regularly. I would use a multi-viscosity  oil such as 10W-30 and you may want to consider the synthetic motor oils like Mobile 1 as they work better at higher temperatures. The spring loads on the camshaft are not very high, so there is no need to add ZDDP (zinc) and adding it may have adverse effects on the oil that you choose.

Ford recommended SAE140 for the summer in most transmissions of the 30's and 40's, and SAE90 for winter. You can buy SAE140 GL4 at NAPA and other stores that sell Sta-Lube products.

My Motor Manual shows that SAE 30 was commonly specified for Lincolns at above +32°F temperatures and 10W to -10°F.  Any modern 10W-30 engine oil would be suitable for your engine.  I would go with a 10W-30 Heavy Duty Engine Oil (preferably dual rated API CK-4/SN), which typically have higher detergent levels than passenger car oils (ie, API SN).  See Engine Wear.

• Like 1