Question

creed227

Hello,  

I am a newbie with vintage cars as I have never owed one or even drove or sat in one before but am  I am thinking of buying one in the near future.  I am looking at late 1940's to late 1950's cars.  The question I have as I have heard about is Gasoline issue.  I heard modern gasoline cannot be used in vintage cars as I do know the gas was leaded back in the era. Also about fuel pumps and such and our modern gas today has ethanol in it and will ruin a vintage cars engine.  Can anyone tell me more about what to do about this dilemma as its kinda scaring me off from not investing in a vintage car.  I was thinking what is the point of having a vintage car if you cannot even drive it around sometime and to ca car show and such. Can anyone help me on how you gas up your cars and such.  I know if I purchase a car it will not be a daily commuter but would like to take it in the summertime and and drive it sometimes and to local cars shows when they come up.  Thanks in advance for all your responses. 

Thanks again,

Chris   

Chris,

Thanks for jumping in here.  If you are interested in old cars figure out which one(s) light your fire and do some research to determine if it will be the right one for you.  There was a lot of technological changes from post-war cars to late 50s cars.  Many different brands, body styles, engine & transmission combinations, styling, options, parts availability, ease of maintenance, the list goes on.