olds 1949--Hershey

I sure would like to have it. smile.gif 88? 98?<BR>Probably sold by now if it is a really nice one. wink.gif hvs<P>I assume you are posting this from Hershey.<BR>Could you take a minute and give us a weather report.<BR>Thanx smile.gif<p>[This message has been edited by hvs (edited 10-05-2000).]

Actually I'm not in Hershey. A friend is trying to find a fun car for me and he's found this one. Would you mind telling me why you'd like that particular car. I'm new to all this, never owed a vintage car.

My first new car was a 1949 Chev, but not a conv. I liked the lines then and I still do. The Olds was so much more car but out of my price range in '49 as was even the Chev conv. I have admired them ever since. You still need to know whether it is a 76, 88 or 98. The 76 is a 6 cyl and very close to a Chev. Both the 88 & 98 are V-8's and nice cars, but different. The 98 is the larger of the two.<P>As to value, the 88 is slightly more valuable according to old cars price guide.<P>#2 condition 88 $25,900 ~~ 98 $25,200<BR>#3 " " $14,800 ~~ " $14,400 <BR>It is probably NOT a #1 condition car. The 76's are probably worth about 2/3 of the value of the 88's. ~~ HVS<P>DON'T BUY ON MY PRICE ESTIMATES ALONE. smile.gifsmile.gif

THAT FIGURES. frown.gif Better luck next time. smile.gif<BR>Probably you should be there yourself with the money in hand if you are looking for a really nice car. ~ hvs

Howard,<BR>I'll bet our good DFer friend, Thomas from Germany, got the car! He just had it shipped to Belgium to keep us guessing.<BR>Just kidding you, Thomas!<BR>Patt