Acrylic enamel Vs. Single stage Urethane

tom61

I recently Used a 12oz Duplicolor Acrylic Enamel aerosol spray can to paint a steering wheel and I very much like the result.

An aspect that's extremely good is that the finish is high gloss and required no polishing or buffing, which would have been difficult with all the curves of the steering wheel. I'm relatively new to painting, but it seems to me that Enamel paints don't get orange peel (at least from my experience as I said above) and thus don't require the buffing and sanding that 2 stage urethanes do. However it seems to me that single stage urethanes might have the same effect?

The Acrylic Enamel did require a few hours to dry completely, but I much rather wait than having to go through the trouble of sanding and buffing.

Iv'e also seen people succesfully use industrial Enamels for painting cars, so maybe that's an option. I'd like the paint to look original, so I don't metalics or any of the fancy paints, just a strong and durable paint that's single colour and glossy.

Summer is coming, and I would like to paint my Desoto with a black paint. Now I haven't yet found a comparison between Enamel and single stage urethanes, and so I was hoping that someone might be able to outline their differences , features and where to buy them in Canada or online...It seems that it's much easier to buy paint in the States rather than Canada...so If anyone knows where I can find a good paint that's reasonably priced I'd much appreciate it as well.

Tom,

I suspect you will find that the rattle can paint on the heavy use steering wheel will end up unsatisfactory for that use due to its softness.   I prefer Acrylic enamel with a hardener.   Creates a  almost indestructible finish that won't peel or scratch.  I never got into base clear, because the acrylic with hardener is so forgiving for us amateurs. 

• Like 1