Is this VW Super Beetle worth restoring?

Hello I’m new to restoring cars and have relatively no experience at all at fixing cars  but I want to take on this vw restoration. I want other experienced people’s opinions on what I should do. I know I won’t be able to do everything on my own as far as the wiring if needed and new floor pans but this is my dream car and I am also using this restoration for mechanical knowledge too. This 1977 VW Super Beetle has a lot of rust but not that much under the car it’s mostly surface rust. I just need someone more experienced opinion so I attached some photos he is also asking 600$ for it.

9B7754E0-2C2A-4D73-BBC5-96069DF6FC94.jpeg

1473716A-46E8-4B86-A8C2-734380FAD1B1.jpeg

DBDA1F30-B2DB-436C-8982-7AEDD7434C22.jpeg

8F1AFB8E-6FAD-4748-8FC8-36A4A6F7F23A.jpeg

461A7BA2-FAD3-4B5A-8AE0-016F59757FBF.jpeg

Pass on this. VWs used a body pan and this one needs replacing. Patching won't be that safe. The door bottoms should be checked as I suspect they are shot. The roof will never be the same since the metal has stretched. Sorry to be a wet blanket but this is a real challenge. 

For $2500 - $4000 for a better car may seem like a lot but you would be way more into this one in parts and time very quickly.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Yeah that’s kinda what I was thinking I didn’t want it to be too much work for so little car, I’m glad I posted before I made a decision thanks for replying!

9 minutes ago, 72caddy said:

Pass on this. VWs used a body pan and this one needs replacing. Patching won't be that safe. The door bottoms should be checked as I suspect they are shot. The roof will never be the same since the metal has stretched. Sorry to be a wet blanket but this is a real challenge. 

For $2500 - $4000 for a better car may seem like a lot but you would be way more into this one in parts and time very quickly.