Help Wanted - Can't shut off my engine

John_Mc

Guys, I was able to get my newly rebuilt V-12 running and all is well except I have a wiring issue of some kind and the ignition switch on my column does not turn the car off.  Now I am no electrician of any kind, but let me cover the basics of the problem.  First, it's not the switch.  I've done a continuity test and it works just fine.  Plus I checked for power on one side and then checked for power on the other side and the switch works exactly as it should.  Secondly, my right side coil is hot all the time with 6+ volts and the left coils show 3+ volts.  This is whenever the battery is connected.  I've even tried with the generator AND with both leads of the ignition switch disconnected and the engine still starts.  I have a wiring diagram but can't seem to follow it where it will point to my issue.

I'm not sure where to start here.  It appears as if power is getting to the coils and bypassing the ignition switch totally.

If it were your car, where would you start??  It's really unnerving not be able to turn off the car.  I've choked it to stop, but how can I find the issue??  Thanks in advance.

Thanks very much and you might be right, but I think my wiring is messed up at the resistance junction.  Is there a diagram anywhere or can someone tell or post a picture of what this junction block should look like when wired properly???    Here's what I have now, and it can't be right.

IMG_2615.JPG

2 hours ago, John_Mc said:

Thanks very much and you might be right, but I think my wiring is messed up at the resistance junction.  Is there a diagram anywhere or can someone tell or post a picture of what this junction block should look like when wired properly???    Here's what I have now, and it can't be right.

IMG_2615.JPG