Engine swap in 1955 Nash...Buick V8 Maybe?

BCT1955

I have a 1955 Nash ambassador custom that originally came with a Packard 320 v8, engine was toast and tranny was locked up when I bought it. Was thinking about putting a Packard 374 in it with a T85 or T89 so it could be hooked up to the torque 

tube, but couldn't find either. 

So I'm looking into putting maybe a Buick nailhead in it, but I don't know if it would bolt to the torque tube. Any information would be appreciated, location Madison SD.

By some weird coincidence you are the second person with this problem. The best solution would be to rebuild your engine or another Packard V8 and rebuild the trans too.

The Buick is a non starter. Yes it has a torque tube drive but so different from Nash that nothing interchanges.

In the other discussion I suggested it would be easier to put in a Lincoln independent rear suspension than to re engineer the car for a conventional drive. If you put a gun to my head and forced me to put in a different engine, trans etc I would probably look for a Lincoln Mark VIII and transplant the whole power train. This would be a major job and not for the faint of heart but a first class mechanic could pull it off.

On the whole it would probably be cheaper just to buy a better car.

Yea that was the plan, but there is no salvaging this block or trans, I've had it apart. This engine has been run without oil or coolant, and hard. I have never seen a engine / trans with this much damage. So it's out of the picture. I would like to keep the suspension etc the same, so I'm looking to see if anything could bolt directly to the torque tube, or if anyone has a T85/T89 Nash  transmission out there. With the T85 I could bolt up numerous Ford engines or newer amc v8s. Lincoln suspension is something I would try last 

You could go to the forums page and scroll down to the American Motors (AMC) Nash and Rambler section.

http://forums.aaca.org/forum/52-american-motors-amc-nash-rambler/