Why updraft carbs?

m-mman

I am new to 1920s & 1930s cars so excuse me if this seems like a stupid question.

I have long history with 50s & 60s cars and understand them well.  

In an effort to experience an "old" car before I die, I have acquired a 1929 Cad and a 1926 Lincoln. Acquainting myself to the ancient technology has been a very steep learning curve.  Mechanical brakes, vacuum fuel systems, three brush generators, etc. are not things I have had any experience with, but S-L-O-W-L-Y I am beginning to understand them.  (and there are few 'old guys' around  who could explain things that I have been able to connect with)  I am working to learn the cars on their own terms and not 'improve' them. But some of the technology has me baffled. 

One question I have not found an answer to (and I have searched) WHY updraft carburetors???

Gravity pulls things down. The 1900s stationary engines that autos were based on seem to use side draft carbs at least.  Opposed engines seem to have downdrafts.

Either an inline or V type engine, why use an updraft? It either makes for a strange V type set up having the carb so deep in the valley, or in an inline it puts the air intake almost at the dirt road surface and without an air filter. 

By the early 30s most everyone seems to have agreed that downdraft was superior. What were the ancient automobile engineers thinking that caused them to choose an updraft set up from the beginning?

I am no engineer, but maybe it had to do with flooding of the engine prior to perfecting the downdraft style carburetor. There may not have been a carburetor that could regulate the downward flow. Just a very wild guess.

Updraft carbs can be very simple, as simple as a tube in an elbow.

Like many things automotive they started off simple with designs they understood. Also, updrafts tend to be less prone to flooding.  To much gas would just run out of the carb onto the ground rather than into the engine and flood.