1932 Packard 900; Sagging door

1937 Buick 66C

I have recently acquired a 1932 Packard 900 Light Eight Roadster (I am new to Packard ownership).  The driver's door sags, and is extremely difficult to latch.  I would appreciate any suggestions on how to go about determining the source of the problem, and any suggested resolutions.  I suspect that the door was left unlatched for several months, resulting in the sagging I am observing.  The door does not appear to be loose at any of the hinges, and is quite difficult to lift into position to get it latched. 

This car is an excellent, older restoration, and I would like to address this issue with the door without embarking on significant body rework, if avoidable.

9 hours ago, 1937 Buick 66C said:

I suspect that the door was left unlatched for several months, resulting in the sagging I am observing. 

If you feel that this is not a framing issue, or in the hinge pins and is in fact related to an extended period of the door being open,  you could try very slowly and gently reversing the process.   Place a jack under the door and every few days or once a week increase the up pressure every so slightly.

Your door is wood framed though the hinge to body connections are metal to metal. Sounds like sagging or improperly installed wood. You might try installing a screen door turnbuckle inside the door from top front to bottom rear. A few turns on the turnbuckle might solve the problem. We have rewooded many of these doors. Getting them to fit properly can be tricky. 

• Like 3

On 2/26/2018 at 6:26 AM, alsancle said:

If you feel that this is not a framing issue, or in the hinge pins and is in fact related to an extended period of the door being open,  you could try very slowly and gently reversing the process.   Place a jack under the door and every few days or once a week increase the up pressure every so slightly.

On 2/28/2018 at 6:42 AM, Restorer32 said: