Steering Gear lubricant change

Summershandy

I loves to change old fluids to new. I've had zero experience with steering gears. Manual doesn't want a change unless unit its disassembled for repairs. Of course, they didn't think their car would still be on the road 64 years later. Yay or nay? Would I be opening a can of worms or gear oil if you will? Just check the level? What you guys think? 

8 minutes ago, Summershandy said:

I don't think there's a cover per say. I thought I read somewhere to remove a bottom bolt and the fluid will empty from there. It's not the typical rear diff that I'm familiar with a cover on the backside, so I haven't pursued it. 

Some cars the fill hole is located on the side of the third member..

• 2 weeks later...

I ended up making a slurry mix out of grease and gear oil. Read up on grease being too thick and straight gear oil may leak if seals are worn. It took more than I thought so it had to be low. This should suffice, way I look at it I'm not doing any performance pylon driving. 

• Like 1

• 1 month later...
On 2/24/2018 at 10:44 PM, C Carl said:

Very good idea , but not just any oil or grease. Semi-fluid 00 grease. Penrite Steering Box Lube is exactly that.   - Carl 

Where can this stuff be found? 

On 3/6/2018 at 8:55 AM, Summershandy said:

I ended up making a slurry mix out of grease and gear oil. Read up on grease being too thick and straight gear oil may leak if seals are worn. It took more than I thought so it had to be low. This should suffice, way I look at it I'm not doing any performance pylon driving. 

Was this for the steering gear? I’ll be filling mine up soon too