How fast?

Mars

I have a 1930 Desoto 4dr sedan, straight 8. Runs great,good brakes. I usually cruise at about 35-40 mph. Feels and sounds like about as fast as I want to take it. But didn't they go much faster when they were newer? Would I be pushing my luck pushing the throttle ? The rear gear doesn't help either. Also the ocasssional front end shimmy. Just wondering .

Well I'm a little surprised that nobody has replied to this already so I will give my humble opinion although I have no experience with Desoto I do have a 1929 Chrysler 65 sedan. Now I would have thought your vehicle should do much better then 35-40 mph but maybe the diff ratio is a bit low and if you're getting a front end shimmy I would pay some attention to the front end before trying to go faster also check what revs your engine is doing at different speeds. Another thing is is it a restored car or a original old girl my Chrysler would do 45mph comfortably with a very tired engine and felt stable on the road. So I would take some check things over before trying to go faster any way hopefully someone with some Desoto experience will chime in 

Thanks for the reply. I am surprised more folks havnt chimed in. To the best of my knowledge its original. The rear gear makes a big difference I think. What part of the front end should I pay most attention to? It passed state inspection. It will go faster, but I don't know how far to test this 88 yr old girl.

My 1931 DB DH6 will do a smooth 45mph and once in a while I will take it to 50mph. I will NOT do freeways with it ever again. I did that once and a semi almost blew me into a ditch. My '31 had a shimmy and "death wobble" so I took it around the corner to the alignment guy. He found two wedges at each spring to front axle mounting area and there was one broken on each side. He took the broken ones out and realigned the car and all is well....no more wobble.

Edited by keiser31 (see edit history)