Oil Bath Air Cleaner - '40 Buick

kingrudy

I have got my oil bath air cleaner almost ready to install, but I have heard mixed opinions as to using a paper filter, or keeping it as an oil bath cleaner. I tried the local auto parts store and was not able to find the correct size. I would welcome input on this, as I am really a rookie.

Thanks,

Mike

1940 Super Coupe

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks for the reply, I have heard both good and bad about the oil bath filter. I think that I will try it both ways and see what works best. I realize the the oil filtration should work well, just not sure about the regular maintenance.

The oil bath was designed for use when dirt roads were more prevalent and addressed the concern for filtration under those driving conditions.  Paper filtration can work equally well in a housing designed to hold a paper media filter but you would have to understand the difference in air flow conditions through the the filter housing that was designed for oil bath versus a paper filter designed for a different flow conditions.  The first thing I would do is look at the application that the filter was designed for.  If it was for a 1200 cc four cylinder engine (about 73 cu in), you know that the air flow through a 248 cu in 8 cylinder engine would be drastically different.  Filters are designed to contain particles, a smaller filter can plug up faster.  If the smaller filter plugs up faster will you starve the engine of air at higher rpms? The higher flow rate through the filter can lead to higher impaction forces, can the filter handle that?  In short, just becasue the paper filter fit doesn't mean that it will give you desired performance.

Two presumptions about todays drive: 1) you won't likely use the car on dirt roads and 2) Dirt or paved, the car is not likely to see more than 20,000 miles driven under your ownership.  You might even get away using no filter, though I would not recommend that.