Sign in to follow this  
ckowner

Radiator rock screen

I am looking to build a rock screen for my 1930 DeSoto CK radiator. Can anyone help me source the (3/8" x 3/8" ?) stainless steel crimped mesh used for this application?

Thank you

Do you have a photo of the screen that you need?  There is a surplus metals company here in Central Florida that has had "diamond mesh" stainless steel screen in the past. 

Where are you located?

Cheers,

Grog

Go where you go for all things ................McMaster-Carr

"Stainless Steel Wire Cloth"...................Bob

I would also used McMaster Carr. I have been using them for 50 years and they are great. For a reference, I would look at McMaster PN 9656T17 or 9241T45 both are Stainless. McMC, has several varieties listed under "Stainless Steel Mesh".

Restorer, isn't the catalog great! Sometimes when I am looking for something I find something else that would be a better fit. Just paging thru it is fun.

Gotta love the catalog. Great if you are trying to engineer something . They even have such things as Alemite grease fittings  and many things of use to us car guys. 

Thank you for the info. What would be the proper screen to buy and the wire gauge. I would prefer the square running diagonally. Also being in Canada, I am not sure whether I can get this shipped from McMaster-Carr

What is the gauge of the original and are you looking to replicate an original? I would lean to a heavier gauge to prevent wind from causing it to pulsate back and forth against the radiator. McMaster usually ships the same day, if I order something, I get it the next day. I don't think shipping to Canada is an issue.