When Re wiring Vehicle wire size

Sactownog

hey friends, I have re-wired a few vehicles in my time and I am planning on re-wiring my 33 Dodge starting this week. the wires are very beat up and the sheathing is crumbling off it and can cause issues so I plan to redo all wires and clean it up. 

my question: the vehicle is a POSITIVE GROUND 6V system. I have never worked on a Positive Ground system before and I have read that the wires tend to be thicker as to move power more efficiently. 

if there is anyone with experience on this I would like any tips, I do plan to replace the wires with the existing size so as to remove a wire and replace with same size that was used. I just did not know if there is something I should do to either upgrade the wires or just stick with standard size that is on the vehicle... 

one electrical problems I have that I know of is that my headlight switch that controls the HIGH BEAM/LOW BEAM lights may be connected wrong as

1 click with my foot and the headlights come on,

2nd click and only the driver light comes on

3rd click and only passenger light comes on

then click again and back to both headlights being on.

Positive or negative has no impact on the wiring.  The electrons can run exactly the same either way. Only the generator, starter, gas gauge and radio need to be polarity correct.

Whatever is wired (home, business, motor home or automobile) always has bigger gauge wire at the source and smaller wires at the final appliance.  Look at the big wires coming in to your breaker panel at home and the small wires at you wall plugs.

I believe that your headlight dimmer is wired correctly.  Many car manufacturers in the 30's tried various and sundry ways to "dim" headlights.  High beam/Low beam was not the normal then.