1953 Chevrolet Belair Dealer showroom plates, or later?

basscaster

Pure speculation:

The typeset just strikes me as odd. It doesn't looks "right". It might simply be the fact that different sizes were used, but if set for a dealer, I would think they'd want the same size for a showroom lineup. I don't see the same font used in period brochures either, so I'd question the continuity. Further the boarder-less style and overall design seems more "modern" and done up on a computer, not carefully designed by hand. I'm not an art expert or 1953 Chevy expert, it just doesn't quite look right to me. I don't see any comparable examples either, and something as cool as these would have likely been saved in great number if they existed as such.

• Like 1

6 hours ago, Frantz said:

The typeset just strikes me as odd. It doesn't looks "right". ...

I agree.  I think they were made much later as

collectible souvenirs.  I agree that the style isn't quite right.

And in 1953, the size of a license plate had not been

standardized.  The size varied from state to state until

around 1957.  So if these are made to the modern size,

with holes in exactly the modern pattern, that's another

clue that they may be newer.

2 hours ago, rwoods said:

the two ten convertible plate shows its either 53 or 54 as that's the only years they were made.

Now that I am thinking about it, I am pretty sure that in 1954 that the 210 Convertible as well as the Townsman Wagon were dropped from the 210 line. 

Edited by John348 (see edit history)

18 hours ago, John_S_in_Penna said:

License plate sizes were standardized early in 1955. 

On 1/23/2018 at 1:44 PM, John_S_in_Penna said:

So if these were collectibles for 1953 models, wouldn't we likely see them for other 50s Chevrolet models as well? I can't find anything else like them. The closest thing I have come across are some metal dealer plates for 1958 and 1959 Chevys, like the Nomad.

18 hours ago, basscaster said: