1937 Buick Special - Opinions re. condition

Hello All,

I am brand new to this circle, trying to learn as much as I can about these wonderful cars before I purchase one... I come from the horse and cart club! (WWII jeeps) They're great, but ride a little different than a 38 Special!..:) In short, I have been looking for a solid car in the 15K to 17K range which should get a well preserved older restoration for what I've seen... I wish I was in the 22 to 25K, for which there seem to be no shortage of cars...

A bit to the point, I have found a 37 for sale, (115,000 miles/Would prefer a 38) which I'm sure some of you may know. As far as I can tell, it would need the following to be reliable...

1- Complete vehicle harness

2- Carburetor work

3- Possibly tires

1937 Buick 40 Special

The rest seems to be all there, including the steering which would be a whooping grand to replace! (and I thought jeep parts were expensive!) so, I am very close on an offer but have a couple of concerns...

1- The seller/dealer stated that while on the test drive the transmission did make a noise (Grind) downshifting only... Apparently he has driven many of these vehicles

2- The engine has been rebuilt by the previous owner, but there are no records... You can listen to it for about 30 sec. on this wonderful video...

3- Transmission 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awXADz9tWSs

I almost hear the engine knock, or maybe it is cold or idling too low. I'm familiar with flat head fours and sixes, but have zero experience with these... If anyone can shed some light into what I may be getting into (Short of paying an inspector/yet the winter weather gets in the way of a drive) I would appreciate it.. Thank you.

Best regards,

Philip

Antique Automobile Club of America - Discussion Forums

Hello there,