Mechanical brake adjustment front to rear

sportroadster

I am new to pre-war cars and to mechanical brakes is particular.

Bought a 28 Buick a few months ago, it is in nice shape but braking seemed to have only 1 wheel that was braking and locking up.

Got all wheels adjusted per the manual now have both rears that can lock but front barely have enough leverage on them.

I can still turn the fronts by hand with all four wheels up in the air and rears locked

Checked the evener and rod from pedal is connected to hole closest to front wheel brake rods

Checked for friction and found some issues but all are resolved with same results

So what is next, drill a new hole in the evener closer to the front brake rod side?

Open to any suggestions

Will

My first question on mechanical brakes is "Do you have the correct woven lining on the brake shoes??"  I have seen too many relined shoes with bonded lining .  The compressed bonded linings require too much pedal pressure to work properly on the mechanical brake systems.  Model A Fords are set up so the front wheels don't lock up.  The concern was loss of steering with locked front wheels.  If your car  can skid the rear tires on a panic stop, you probably have as much braking as you can expect.  

Bob Engle

Most of my brake adjustment books suggest if part of the system is locking up and part is not that you should back off the one/ones that are locking.  Tightening up the ones that don't lock up is the wrong way.  Bob Engle is right about the linings.  My Pontiac locks all four wheels with half a pedal (now that I have gone back to the correct linings) and on  a government MV inspection my braking is 60% front and 40% rear.

37 minutes ago, Tinindian said: