Help Identifying These Antique Metal Wheels

My first thought was that they are wheels for some early piece of equipment.  Early fire extinguishers used a cruder style of wheel, see picture.

It's possible they are from a very early auto.  An Internet search for "highwheeler" shows a picture of an 1890's Peugeot with large rear wheels.  The hubs on your wheels appear to be for a front spindle, however, I can't see a keyway.

Very nice and interesting set of wheels!

IMG_1485.JPG

Try looking up an antique hay rake, I’m fairly sure that is what they are for. They sell for about 100 each in the suburbs but out in the country that are 50 each for decorative items. 

B45C20D1-EA5D-49FF-AEFB-0427859191F0.png

I'm no expert, but the concave curve of the rim and the lack of reinforced support on the edges of the rim make me believe these wheels were designed to work with tires of some type, either solid or inflated.  i don't think most early farm equipment used tires.

15 minutes ago, Taylormade said:

I'm no expert, but the concave curve of the rim and the lack of reinforced support on the edges of the rim make me believe these wheels were designed to work with tires of some type, either solid or inflated.  i don't think most early farm equipment used tires.

Also, they seem to have adjustable spokes. What size are they? Maybe a racing sulky?

I doubt that they are for any implement, as the rims look like they are made for a tubular type tire and the spokes are fine and look to be adjustable for centering. My guess is some type of early motor vehicle. Judging by the width of the siding, which looks about 4-41/2 in., I would guess that these wheels are about 3ft in diameter.