Sign in to follow this  
pint4

Tow Vehicle-GMC 2500HD

I am looking at buying a 2012 GMC Sierra 2500HD with a 6.0 V-8 engine, 6 speed auto transmission, and 4.10 rear end.  I plan to pull an enclosed trailer with a 37 Packard in it.  Has anyone had any experience with this combo and how did it pull.  Someone told me it might be underpowered.  I am new to this game so I am looking for someone who might have some experience.  Thanks.

Some of the answer depends on where you live, and where you plan to tow.

If you are mainly going to be in flat land, with nothing more than gentle rolling hills, that would be a good tow vehicle.

If you're in very hilly and mountainous areas, be prepared for it to slow down somewhat uphill.  You'll be towing at least 2500 pounds of trailer and 5000 pounds of car, and the "small" V-8 (compared to the 8.1L engines that GM quit putting in trucks up until 2007) will suffer somewhat in performance.

Here's a good thread to read about pros and cons of the 6.0L...

http://www.gm-trucks.com/forums/topic/150712-60-vs-81liter-engine/  

Of course, many will say that a diesel is the way to go, much more torque.  My personal taste is I don't want to deal with noise and mess of fuel, but again, them's fighting words to a true diesel enthusiast!

Good luck in your search......about 5 years ago, I was able to find a 2001 Suburban, 2500 4WD with the 8.1L, with only 36K miles on it, and I've been more than happy towing my enclosed 24 foot trailer loaded with a Pierce and other cars...

• Like 1

Considering trucks of the 70’s-90’s has anywhere from 150-250 HP, anything modern has plenty of power.  It depends on your perspective.  A 30 year old will think it’s underpowered, while a 60 year old will be amazed.

Edited by 39BuickEight (see edit history)