Need gas tank build

stakeside

• 7 months later...

Any good metal fabrication shop with a sheet metal brake and a TIG welder can fabricate that tank for you. It's a simple rectangle with a filler neck. Once you get it, use tank sealer and paint the exterior.

As I suggested in my original post #2, Tanks Inc., has a Universal tank that is 30"x16"x8", pretty darn close. You might need to relocate the filler neck, but they might be willing to do that for you. Even if they don't do custom work, you should be able to find someone that can change the filler.

• Like 1

I used to be a sheet metal worker in local #24 out of Dayton, Ohio. When the tank on my 1923 Hupmobile starting filling my fuel system with rust flakes AGAIN last year (after several professional attempts to fix it), I was griping to a friend that I could have made that tank out of stainless steel myself, back when I was bending tin for a living. He reminded me of a mutual friend on our pool team who still was a sheet metal worker. 

The guy (Steve) agreed to build me a new tank, using stainless steel. Another friend assured me it could be painted, using special materials (my tank is exposed to plain view). I gave Steve my old tank, and he went to work fabricating and welding up the new tank body for me. Then, an old drag racer-pal of mine used his machining skills to make a perfect replica filler neck, fuel line fitting-boss, and gas gauge neck. Paul Frost also cut apart my old, broken diecast metal gas gauge assembly, and machined new parts out of brass to make it work. (That's Paul, in the photo below). Then it was painted, and it looks beautiful today. 

I can FINALLY say that I really am done with rust particles in the fuel bowl of my Hupmobile carburetor. 

20151112_132310.jpg

20151112_132323.jpg

20151112_132359.jpg

20160819_140024.jpg

• Like 2

• 2 months later...
On 11/10/2017 at 10:14 AM, 46 woodie said: