Head stud removal ,Help

ArticiferTom

Looking to remove  two head studs and switch locations they where installed wrong years ago . The one is long to accept horn bracket , see pic . It should be up one stud forward . Do not want to remove head . Maybe double nut to extract ?   And is stud in blind hole or to coolant chamber ? This is a Plymouth 4cylinder '31 Silver dome engine .

Thank in Advance   .TOM

20171022_170838.thumb.jpg.5b06a42bb92650626c3fb7dca9834df7.jpg

When I tore down my 32 DL flathead six at my engine rebuilders, they had a roller stud extractor that looked like a socket, but had an internal three roller setup that gripped the stud and took it right out with a socket wrench.  I'm no expert, but my only concern would be the length of your studs above the head.  I removed my head and then removed the studs, so there was a lot more stud to get a grip on. The two nut solution would have the same problem - can you even get two nuts on the stud, -plus you're putting a lot of force on the very top of the stud.  Even after I removed the head, it took a lot of force to get the studs off.  Despite my very careful efforts, one stud broke off in the block and had to be removed by the rebuilder.  The short length of stud protruding above the head, plus the corrosion holding the stud to the head makes for a perilous adventure for you.  Snap off the stud and you're pulling the head.  I don't remember which studs went into the water jacket, but there were a lot of them - and they were all badly rusted on the bottom threads.  Some lost a good half inch of stud.

Edited by Taylormade (see edit history)

I agree with Taylormade about using the 3 roller extractor socket, which should be available @NAPA, or "online".

But I would remove the nut and soak the stud with PB Blaster for a couple of days first, to try and break the "seal" of rusty stud against the head.