In need of a nail in the head

Randalll

Hello everyone,

My name is Randall and I am a newbie so I want to say hello and thank you for accepting me into this group. I just picked up a '63 Riviera. I love this car! I am 2nd owner and car has 38,000 original miles. Unfortunately the original owner had put about 3 extra quarts of motor oil in it and it threw a rod. So obviously I am in need of a 445 wildcat nailhead . Will take any of the factory motors for that car as I want to stay as original as possible. If at all possible I would like a used but running motor. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your time. 

Randall.

Cell: 310-651-0912

email. randalllehman@outlook.com

file3-1.jpeg

file1.jpeg

file3.jpeg

• Like 1

And just for the record, you need a 401 cubic inch motor. 445 was the torque rating. Several items of the 63 motor make it unique. Several threads on this forum discuss differences. Read these before you buy something that be a nailhead, but will require other modification to work in your Riviera.

And I think your springs are fine.

• Like 2

3 hours ago, RivNut said:

"Threw a rod."

Through the block?  Just wondering why you can't rebuild the original.

IMHO, a very good question.  Barring something irreversibly destructive (like shrapnel through the block), a nailhead can be rebuilt.

I'm a little curious about the car, though.  Did the PO lower it?  (That seems somewhat unusual taste for what would have to be a guy in his 70s.)  Was it driven around at all after the sale?  And the oil was never checked?  I'm just a little confused about the timeline: a guy who has owned the car for over 50 years overfills the crankcase, sells the car, it gets lowered, and it blows up. Is that the right order?

Randall,

It would help a bunch if we knew where you are located.