GaryBudd

Might be time to cut a wood wheel off

I've tried everything,heat,sledge hammer and three different penetrating fluids for three day now and it won't budge.It's the left rear. The other three came off with the puller I had made.Has anyone else had to resort to cutting? I have a spare wheel to replace it with.

Are you sure the brakes are backed off?  Cutting a wheel off without damaging the axel or surrounding parts could be difficult.  Are you cranking down on the puller and then leaving it under full stress?  It took me over a week to get a wheel off a 29 Plymouth I had.

I checked the photo of the puller you had made on your other thread.  First, if your wheels are that nice, don't cut them up.  Second, the center bolt on the puller seems a bit undersized.  I'm sure it's a grade 8 bolt, but I still question how much torque you can really apply.  How big a wrench are you using to tighten it down?  I'm sure others will chime in, and I'm no expert, but I don't think you can apply enough force to the axel with that setup if the wheel is really stuck.

Edited by Taylormade (see edit history)
  • Like 1

I agree with Taylormade....that center bolt does look a bit weak for the job. If that one does not work, do a search here for the wheel removal. Others have made other types of wood spoke wheel pullers.

• Like 1

My glasses aren't strong enough to enable me to tell from here the thread on the centre bolt. It should be UNF or finer to get maximum axial force. It is also an Allen key drive: you will be able to put more torque into it with a large socket and handle. Best for force on the bolt is a special high strength six sided socket.