odd brake question

TrekLawler

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the TC brake system with this style of antilock brakes and hope someone can help me. I just picked up an 89 TC that is in really good shape and runs well. the problem I have is with the brakes, they stop very well but if you just sitting for any length of time with your foot on the brakes the peddle all of a sudden goes to the floor and almost loses pressure on the system requiring you to let off and re-depress the pedal.

any thoughts as I've been digging through the manual on the braking system and a little lost.

Thanks in advance

Edited by TrekLawler (see edit history)

16 hours ago, TrekLawler said:

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the TC brake system with this style of antilock brakes and hope someone can help me. I just picked up an 89 TC that is in really good shape and runs well. the problem I have is with the brakes, they stop very well but if you just sitting for any length of time with your foot on the brakes the peddle all of a sudden goes to the floor and almost loses pressure on the system requiring you to let off and re-depress the pedal.

any thoughts as I've been digging through the manual on the braking system and a little lost.

Thanks in advance

If the brake pedal slowly sinks to the floor as you sit with your foot on the brake pedal, such as at a traffic light, the problem is most likely a defective 'Hydraulic Actuating Assembly' commonly referred to as the master cylinder.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Hemi Dude said:

If the brake pedal slowly sinks to the floor as you sit with your foot on the brake pedal, such as at a traffic light, the problem is most likely a defective 'Hydraulic Actuating Assembly' commonly referred to as the master cylinder.

Thanks Hemi, yea, that's it exactly.

I've been pointed to some articles you wrote on converting from the anti lock brake system. is there a search I can do to find these as this may be my route?

Edited by TrekLawler (see edit history)