GaryBudd

Driveshaft removal 1929 Desoto

In order to get the transmission out for repair I have to remove driveshaft. I've never done this before so before I do it wrong I'll ask.

Do you have an instruction book? There should be a cross section of the joint. If they are like my 1931 Dodge DH6, I first mark the flange at each end of the driveshaft so as to put it back in the same orientation. I remove the bolts on the rear flange and then from the front flange. Pull it back and out. It is fairly straight forward as to removal and of course, reverse the procedure. It may differ slightly on your car. If I recall, the front flange bolts are pretty difficult to get to since the handbrake drum is there, too.

• Like 1

If the set up is the same as a 29  Plymouth, the driveshaft has rubberized fiber disks instead of U-joints.  Does your car have the disks?  Maybe the bigger six cylinder motor made them too dangerous and they went with actual U-joints.  It will make a difference what you have.

• Like 1

No u joints. I think it is as Keiser31 said.If all goes right I'll know in the morning.Just  don't want to damage anything.Thanks to you both for the help.

Looks the same as 32.  As I said, my 29 Plymouth had flexible disks.  If this DeSoto has the disks, be sure to replace  them with fresh units.

have the driveshaft out,bolts removed from transmission.Hoped it come out but is firmly still attached to bell housing.Is there something else holding it? I have soaked the mating surfaces with penetrating oil. Don't want to break anything by helping with hammer.Thank you so much for your guidance. 

Assuming you have Spicer U-joints and not the rubberized fiber disks, this is how my driveshaft comes off.