1952 Carter WCFB...setting idle...

krinkov58

I have a 1952 Buick Roadmaster and just rebuilt the Carter WCFB carb, and I'm setting the idle according to the factory manual.  The manual says to back out the throttle stop screw and hold the fast idle cam in the "choke open" position, then screw in the throttle stop screw until it just contacts the throttle lever arm, then give it another full turn.  This should give it an idle speed of 450rpm.  I'm getting more like 700-750rpm at the least.  Any thoughts?  Both idle needle valve are backed out one full turn off seating.

Right, the needle valves being backed out one turn from seating is the ballpark you start off with, then in and out until you get the mixture correct.  The manual says do this at a 450rpm idle but no matter what I do, I cannot get that low.  Even with the throttle stop backed out all the way.

Here is something I forgot to mention though...I have a 1/4" phenolic riser (plus the width of 2 gaskets, one under the carb and one under the riser) underneath the carb to stop heat soak...so the carb is sitting slightly higher than it's stock position.  I had to make a lengthened choke stovepipe to compensate.  Would this affect idle speed?  I would think it would affect the top end rpm instead.

1/4 wont make any difference you can notice. If the gasket and the manifold have 4 holes, and your spacer is open, that could have some effect. I don't have a manual for that car handy, but low settings like that are almost always in gear if the car is an automatic. I'm guessing this has Dynaflow.

Length of choke stove pipe wont make any difference.

Leakage through slightly worn throttle shafts can make some cars run a bit high, but probably you can still come close.