Hemmings Motor Oil

Brian_Heil

https://www.hemmings.com/classic-oil

A car buddy asked me for an opinion on this oil so I did some investigation.

Did not see the API 'startburst' in the adds so I called Hemmings.

Got referred to Champions Brands, the manufacturer. 

I will not state an opinion, just the facts as I have them (we shall see if this passes the Mr. Earl posting protocol).

This oil is $9/quart.

It does not have an API rating.

The API rating/testing was not sought by the manufacturer, Champions Brands, per my discussion with them by phone.

Edited by Brian_Heil (see edit history)

As I understand it, one cannot API certify an oil to a standard that is not current. Many hobbyists are clamoring for more zinc than the current standards allow. If you cannot certify to an old standard, that implies that any oil aimed at hobbyists who want more zinc would not be certified.

I have no experience with this particular oil.

36 minutes ago, Bloo said:

As I understand it, one cannot API certify an oil to a standard that is not current. Many hobbyists are clamoring for more zinc than the current standards allow. If you cannot certify to an old standard, that implies that any oil aimed at hobbyists who want more zinc would not be certified.

I have no experience with this particular oil.

I see your point.  They could not certify because the oil is not SN because the Zink is too high to meet SN.  That would be the best case you could hope for.  But if that's the case, why not state it as such?

An API level of certification comes after passing a number of very specific and difficult tests that are costly to run and certify to.

Why not take a current oil that meets SN API Certification and then add Zink/ZDDP to some level above the SN concentration and state just that 'this is SN certified oil with the following modified total Zinc content of XXX' and sell it?  They don't do that.