My 57 Buick special project

Mack0331

Hello guys. 

I grew up working on classic cars with my dad and I am now a ASE certified master tech. I've been busy racing motorcycles for a while but wanted to start a classic restoration. I found this 57 and thought it was a perfect project. I drove from the Seattle area down to Boise area to pick it up over the weekend. 

The body is in pretty good shape no rust other than some surface rust. Everything is there about the only thing missing is one piece of fender trim. Needs complete restoration but its a solid starting point. 

Going to be pretty much all stock I really like the look of stock 50's cars so no big modifications planned at this time. 

Here's some pics check it out. I'll probably move it into my shop and get started on it next month or September. I'll keep this post updated as I go. Even though I am a master tech this is my first restoration so I'll probably ask a lot of dumb questions lol 

20170716_161536.jpg

20170716_210253.jpg

20170717_095836.jpg

20170717_095856.jpg

20170717_095910.jpg

20170717_095947.jpg

20170717_100007.jpg

20170717_123156.jpg

• Like 12

I bought up every 56 322 block I could find from Idaho to Oregon. 57 was the first year for the 364, though. I know where there's quite a few in the Auburn area, if you're close (I know you're from Seattle, where are you located at?). If you're interested, I can give you the gentleman's information. He's strictly local, though, as in no shipping, and pretty interesting guy to get to know. Here's a pic of some of his wares:

17202791_10155854054750830_6545720566226

Good thing you don't need any sheet metal! If you're missing your fender spear, however, there might be a good one out there. The one in the pic is in pretty decent shape, but it's bent at the end...

• Like 2

8 minutes ago, Beemon said: