64 Riviera driver power window part needed.

Rob Mangieri

Hello everyone, I'm an experienced car builder but this is my first Buick. It's a 64 Riviera 425 single 4bbl all power car. I am rebuilding the drivers door (power vent window gears, seals, felts, clean and re lube all the guides etc.) and found the source of the "CLANK" every time I close it. The rear arm that guides the window had snapped off and was just dangling by the roller inside the door.  The windows still functioned but explains the misalignment. 

Ive added a marked up users photo. What is this part called (doesn't come up o searches for window regulators). 

IMG_9170.JPG

IMG_8928.JPG

Edited by Rob Mangieri
Updated (see edit history)

There's no replacement part for it.

This seems to be the most common issue on first gen Riv's. I'm planning on making a new one from delrin, cut to size. I'm thinking a low profile bolt to hold it in place at the pivot. It seems to happen from the window being pushed on to close the door.

Edited by jsgun (see edit history)

Someone on this forum has repaired one.  I don't know what he called it, but you can probably spend some time and find it by searching this forum.

Don't feel like the Lone Ranger either.   I believe that arm is used to control the window adjustment across the top.  Because most people grab the glass at the top to close the door, an undue amount of strain is placed on this arm and it eventually breaks at the weakest point - right across the rivet.

Ed

7 hours ago, Rob Mangieri said:

Hello everyone, I'm an experienced car builder but this is my first Buick. It's a 64 Riviera 425 single 4bbl all power car. I am rebuilding the drivers door (power vent window gears, seals, felts, clean and re lube all the guides etc.) and found the source of the "CLANK" every time I close it. The rear arm that guides the window had snapped off and was just dangling by the roller inside the door.  The windows still functioned but explains the misalignment.