White Walls

Beemon

What were white wall height for 56 (same as 54,55?)? 2 3/4? I ask because someone near me is selling 4 new Diamondback Radials 235/75R15 with 3 3/4 width white walls for $850 and I'm wondering how big they would be in comparison. I have no comparison photos to look at the differences. I doubt I'll be able to grab these tires anyways, but thought to ask just in case...

I studied the width of wide whites for a quite a while, years back, so I generally believe this statement from Coker to be true: "If your car was built before 1954, it would’ve featured a three-inch (or wider) white wall and if it was built after 1964, it would’ve come with a one-inch (or narrower) white wall."

• Like 2

I wouldn't buy used radials. That price is pretty close to new ones anyway. My first set lasted 11 years, My second set of four cost $990 or something like that. They are 4 years old now. Ninety bucks a year isn't bad if they go the distance. A lot of people spend extra money trying to be cheap.

Bernie

Date codes are VERY important, even for some tires at the tire dealers!  You might save any freight from this particular purchase, but if only a few years of "life" before the 6 year anniversary from production, they get to be even MORE expensive on a per year basis!  Wait until you NEED THEM before you get them.  In the mean time, normal P235/75R-15 whitewalls are much less expensive.  There are some things in DiamondBack's warranty that you might need to consider, too!  Considering they are "modified post production" products.

Back then, the narrower whitewalls were generally viewed as "upgraded" and "more stylish" on older vehicles, as I recall.  Remember, this was the time of The Pepsi Generation" and what was young and energetic was more desired than what had come before it.  Whitewalls were in that mix, too.