Best Battery for 41' Continental

Russ@Kiawah

The Optima battery has more cold cranking amps than the original lead acid battery and it is sealed so that the fumes and spilled acid do not cause parts near the battery to rust. I have been using one in my car since 1995 and love the fact that it holds it charge over the winter and that I don't have to paint my battery tray every year before storage.

Count me as #3 in recommending the Optima. Amazon usually has the best price on them.

• Like 1

13 minutes ago, Ryan Q said:

I'm also an optima fan,  just keep it on a trickle charger if you're not going to use it for awhile.  Optima's don't like to charge if they are allowed to get low. 

I disagree on both counts.  I've had no problems with 6 months storage without any charging.  The secret to recharging Optimas which have gone flat is to hook them in parallel to another battery, even a wet cell, of same voltage, while the 2nd battery has at least a moderate charge.  Low-rate charge for a day.

• Like 1

5 hours ago, Grimy said:

I disagree on both counts.  I've had no problems with 6 months storage without any charging.  The secret to recharging Optimas which have gone flat is to hook them in parallel to another battery, even a wet cell, of same voltage, while the 2nd battery has at least a moderate charge.  Low-rate charge for a day.

Well your results varied from mine on my past optima, and though I was familiar with the second battery in parallel trick I only have one six volt vehicle in the stable so that is a sub-optimal solution in my particular case.  So my LC stays on the battery tender between uses.

Just now, Ryan Q said:

Well your results varied from mine on my past optima, and though I was familiar with the second battery in parallel trick I only have one six volt vehicle in the stable so that is a sub-optimal solution in my particular case.  So my LC stays on the battery tender between uses.