Failure to start

gr8scott

My 72 month battery is nearing 82 months of service. My  '89 couple is used infrequently, and has but 70K miles on the odo. The last time I drove it was a week ago, and as usual, had no issues.  No light or accessories were left on, but this morning when I turned the key, all I got was a VERY weak attempt at a moan, with no cranking at all. I'm not a mechanically inclined person to start with and being disabled, crawling around in the engine compartment is very difficult to say the least, but I did a cursory visual check for obvious signs of problems.  The battery is not swollen, the connections are clean, the belt is tight. Not enough power to do a diagnostic check, so using my AC battery charger I gave it a quick boost, that started it. I then tried to run a diagnostic check, but ran into issues there. Below are pictures  (in sequence) of the feedback.

1. The "Vehicle" indicator was highlighted

2.Checking vehicle status, it indicated that the computer status was OK, but the door stayed blank or blinked. (That passenger door ajar comes on every time, and because the door is shut securely, I just tap the "Return" button to turn off the warning. But here it was non-responsive.

3. Opening the Computer Communications dialog, I got what you see in the third illustration.... and this is a first. Unable to proceed from there, I exited the diagnostic mode.

4. After the jump start I took a twenty minute ride during which I took several readings of the gages at traffic stops. Oil pressure varied between 45 and 52 PSI, Voltage between 13.4  and 13.7.

I'm letting it sit overnight and see whether it starts tomorrow. I have two theories, but being how my mechanical aptitude is only approaching but is not entirely on par with my expertise in brain surgery, either or both may be way off the mark.

A. The battery had run its course and doesn't hold charge.

B. The alternator is shot and not recharging the battery.