Front-end shimmy

Guest Tks

My TC has developed a shimmy in the right front wheel I assumed it was the CV joint going bad and starting to lock up although the CV joint does pop a little bit when making turns Jimmy it's too severe to be a CV joint I'm thinking maybe it's a bad ball joint

If the CV joint is going clack on a turn it is time to either replace it or remove, clean out (it will likely be full of dirt coz the boot has split), add new grease and new boot and refit. I have been there. The end play was excessive and it was clacking, but this made the noise go away. Really should have been replaced but I was a poor student at the time.

Shimmy: might it mean there is excessive play in the steering or suspension? Tie rod ends, drag link ends and so on? Incorrect steering geometry (esp. castor)?

Here is a previous discussion.

Edited by Spinneyhill (see edit history)

I'm guessing "TC" is a Chrysler TC by Maserati. 

To the OP:  why do you "assume" it's a CV joint?  The CV joint is probably the least likely part to cause that.  Far more likely are ball joints, bushings, hub bearings, tie rod ends, or steering rack.  Why guess?  Check the front end and steering for wear.

Your terminology is both confusing and worrying...

Shimmy is a term generally used in describing front wheel vibration (generally quite pronounced) at speed on straight driving, anywhere from low speeds to 50-60...

Your clacking on turns, presumably on low speed city street turns, is classic CV joint wear, or, as mentioned above but unfortunately less common,  contamination by dirt/debris...

If what you're calling shimmy is a feeling the front wheels aren't tracking smoothly in low speed city street turns, that's sometimes described as  wheel or tire  squirm,,,